Traffic Tickets and Moving Violations
Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059.
Not all traffic tickets are moving violations. Speeding tickets are traffic tickets that are moving violations, but a traffic ticket for failure to register your vehicle is a non-moving violation.
The difference between moving violations and non-moving violations is that moving violations cause points to be added to your driving record, while non-moving violations just require you to pay a fine. Too many points will lead to a suspension or revocation of your driver's license.
How Many Points Do You Receive For Moving Violations?
A moving violation traffic ticket, such as a speeding ticket, issued by a city or county police officer will cause 2 points to be added to your driving record. A speeding ticket issued by a Missouri state trooper is a state violation and will cause 3 points to be added to your driving record.
If you accumulate 8 points within 18 months, your Missouri driver's license will be suspended, if it's your first suspension. Your license will be revoked for 1 year if you accumulate 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 24 months, or 24 points within 36 months.
Examples of Missouri Moving Violations & Non-Moving Violations
Here are some examples of common Missouri moving violations and the points assessed for each:
- Speeding = 2 points (city/county) 3 points (state)
- Running a red light = 2 points
- Careless & imprudent driving = 2 points
- Failure to maintain a single lane = 2 points
- Following too close = 2 points
- Failure to yield= 2 points
- Leaving scene of accident = 6 points (city/county) 12 points (state)
- Operating vehicle without a license = 2 points
- Permitting unlicensed driver to drive = 4 points
- No Insurance (failure to maintain financial responsibility) = 4 points
- DWI (alcohol) or DUI (drugs) = 8 points for 1st offense
- Driving while suspended or revoked = 12 points
Following are examples of non-moving, no-point violations:
- Failure to register vehicle
- Expired license plates
- Seat belt violation
- Illegal Parking
- Defective Muffler
An Attorney Can Keep Moving Violations Off Your Record
A traffic law attorney can get your moving violation traffic ticket reduced to "Illegal Parking," which is a non-moving violation that does not cause points to be added to your driving record. If your traffic ticket is reduced to a non-moving violation, your insurance company will never know you received the ticket.
You will have to pay a fine and court costs for any moving violation that is reduced to a non-moving violation, and the fine after the ticket is reduced will be slightly higher than the original fine.
Can a Lawyer Get Non-Moving Violations Dismissed?
A lawyer can get some non-moving violations such as "No Insurance" or "Failure to Register Vehicle" dismissed, if you can provide proof that you have purchased insurance and properly registered your vehicle. Expect to pay a fine and court costs in exchange for the dismissal of your tickets.
Driving Without Insurance is a Moving Violation in Missouri
If the vehicle you are driving is not insured at the time you are pulled over, or it is insured but you don't have the current insurance card with you, the police officer will issue a ticket for "No Insurance," "Fail to Provide Proof of Insurance," or "Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility" and 4 points will be added to your driving record.
If you are involved in an accident in a vehicle that is not insured and you fail to pay for the damage to the other vehicle, the court will suspend your driver's license.
How to Get a No Insurance Ticket Dismissed
Most courts will dismiss a "No Insurance" ticket if you go to court and show proof of insurance to the judge. If you were not insured at the time of the traffic stop but you purchased insurance afterward, some courts will reduce your "No Insurance" ticket to "Illegal Parking."
You will have to pay a fine and court costs for a "No Insurance" ticket, and the fine will be higher if you can't prove that your vehicle was insured at the time you were pulled over. Call the court clerk and ask what their policy is regarding "No Insurance" tickets, or hire an attorney to handle it for you.
How to Get "Improper Registration" or "Expired Plates" Tickets Dismissed
Tickets for "Expired Plates," "Failure to Register Vehicle," or "Improper Registration" can be dismissed if you show proof to the court that you have properly registered your vehicle and obtained current license plates and tags. As with "No Insurance" tickets, if you provide proof of current registration and proper plates, most judges will dismiss your ticket or reduce it to "Illegal Parking."
Many courts will allow you to go to court and show proof of registration to the judge on your own, without assistance of an attorney, but you should call the court clerk ahead of time to ask if this is allowed. If you are not allowed to go to court and show proof of registration to the judge, you can hire an attorney to get the ticket dismissed for you.