Failure to Appear in Court
Call St. Louis traffic law attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059.
What Is a Failure to Appear Charge?
A court can issue a Failure to Appear (FTA) charge against you if you fail to appear in court for your court date, or if you fail to pay a fine. In many cases, you will also be charged an additional FTA fee, which can range from $5 to $100 per incident, depending on the court.
If you miss another court date after the FTA charge has been issued, then the court will issue a warrant for your arrest. At that point, you will have to either pay a bond to get the warrant cancelled or hire an attorney to lift your warrant and obtain a new court date for you. Many courts charge additional fees of $50 to $100 for each warrant.
Your License Can be Suspended for Failure to Appear in Court
A "FACT Suspension" (Failure to Appear in Court For Traffic Violation Suspension) is a suspension of your Missouri driver's license because you failed to appear in court or you failed to pay a fine for a traffic violation.
How to Get Your License Reinstated After a FACT Suspension
After the court reports your Failure to Appear charge to the Driver License Bureau of the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) and the DOR suspends your driver's license, you won't be able get the FACT Suspension lifted or your license reinstated until you do the following:
- pay the traffic ticket fine (or hire an attorney to get the ticket reduced to a non-moving violation and then pay your fine)
- get a compliance letter from the court, proving that you paid the fine
- pay a $20 reinstatement fee for each FTA charge
Reinstatement after a FACT Suspension can be handled through any local Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles license office. Take your compliance letter and the $20 reinstatement fee to any Missouri DMV office to get your license reinstated.
No hardship license (Limited Driving Privilege) is available to you if you have a FACT Suspension.
Click here for more information about Missouri Failure to Appear charges for traffic violations.
FACT Suspensions Stay on Your Missouri Driving Record for 5 Years
After 5 years have passed since the date on which your driver's license was reinstated following a FACT Suspension, you may contact the Missouri Department of Revenue and request that the FACT Suspension be removed from your driving record.