Driving While Intoxicated/Driving Under the Influence (DWI/DUI)
Call St. Louis DUI attorney Andrea Storey Rogers today at (314) 724-5059.
“DWI” and “DUI” are terms that are used in Missouri to mean “Driving While Intoxicated,” “Driving Under the Influence,” or “Drunk Driving.” If you plead guilty or are convicted of DWI, the penalties for a first-time misdemeanor offense are:
- up to 6 months jail time,
- a $500 fine, and
- suspension of your driver’s license
If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test (“refuse to blow”), you will be given a temporary permit allowing you to drive for 15 days, but then your license will automatically be suspended for 1 year. If you agree to take the breathalyzer test, your license will be suspended for 30 days, then you will have a 60-day probation period, and after 90 days total, you will be able to get your license reinstated.
You can appeal the suspension of your driver’s license in a DWI/DUI case, but you need to make sure you don’t miss the deadline. If you take the breathalyzer test, you have 15 days to request a hearing with the Missouri DOR (Department of Revenue). If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test (“refuse to blow”), then you have 30 days to petition the court for a review of the revocation of your driver’s license and to possibly obtain a “stay” of the revocation.
DWI/DUI cases can be very complicated. St. Louis attorney Andrea Storey Rogers can help you appeal the case, obtain a stay of the revocation of your license, and in many situations can negotiate with the court to obtain a recommendation to have the DWI charge amended to a lesser offense that will not show up on your driving record or permanent criminal record.
Call St. Louis attorney Andrea Storey Rogers at (314) 724-5059 to discuss your case and receive a flat fee price quote, or click on the email button at the top of this page or fill out the form on the Home page and send me an email.